Tom Womack Sworn in as the President of the Arkansas Bar Association

June 2011 –Tom D. Womack of Jonesboro will be sworn is as the president of the Arkansas Bar Association on June 10, 2011. The swearing-in ceremony by Chief Justice Jim Hannah will take place during the Association’s annual meeting at the Hot Springs Convention Center at noon on Friday. Mr. Womack is the president of WPM in Jonesboro.

Mr. Womack is currently a member of the Association’s Board of Governors and has served as chair of the Probate and Tax Law Section. He has been honored with the Charles L. Carpenter Award for his exemplary service to the Association. He has served multiple terms on the Association’s House of Delegates and was a member of the Executive Council. He is a longtime Sustaining Member of the Association. He is a Sustaining Fellow of the Arkansas Bar Foundation. He is also a fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel where he serves on the Professional Responsibility Committee and is the past Arkansas State Chair. He is a past president of the Craighead County Bar Association. He is a longtime member and trustee of Walnut Street Baptist Church in Jonesboro. He is a board member and has served as chair of the Jonesboro Chamber of Commerce. He is currently a director of the Arkansas Children’s Hospital Foundation and has served as director of the Arkansas Community Foundation. Mr. Womack obtained his undergraduate degree in accounting from Arkansas State University with distinction and his Juris Doctor from the University of Memphis School of Law.

The Arkansas Bar Association is a voluntary, statewide organization with 5,000 members. Among its purposes are the advancement of the administration of justice and the fostering among its members of high ideals of integrity, learning and public service.